Fourth of July Fashion

Hello everyone!

As you all have probably noticed, this week’s theme is inspired by the Fourth of July. Alexis did this really awesome post earlier this week that you should check out if you have the chance. She invited me to help out with the photography as a model and it was a blast! Plus there were cupcakes, which is always a bonus.

This week I have chosen to do another DIY project for you, this time it’s a shirt. Since I am very girly, as I am constantly reminded by a certain redhead, I wanted to make a shirt that is both patriotic and feminine. This DIY is very simple and does not require a significant amount of time to complete, although you may want to purchase a couple of items from the store.

Step 1: You will need a white t-shirt or tank top. Because the weather has been increasingly hot recently, I went with a loose tank top. I would also make sure that the fabric is not see through and sturdy enough to either be sewn or hot glued. Lay this flat on a table.IMG_5657

 

Step 2: In order to make this shirt a little more patriotic, I wanted to add a flag to the front. However, this isn’t particularly girly. Instead of making a traditional flag I created one by laying out little bows that were the corresponding colors. Unless you enjoy hand-crafting mini bows, I would pick up some from a local craft store. These ones came in a pack together and have tiny white stars on them.

IMG_5659Before I laid the bows out I placed a piece of cardboard inside the shirt. This will prove to be very useful when attaching the bows. Whether you choose to sew them each on or hot glue them, this piece of cardboard will prevent the back of the shirt from being attached to the front. Keep in mind that if you choose to use hot glue the shirt will most likely not be washable, sewing is the much sturdier option.

Step 3: Once each bow is attached, try the shirt on. After I made the flag I realised that it was a little too low on the shirt for my taste so I added a few bows at the top. I purchased the larger bow as well in a three pack. It is easiest to mark where you want the bow then attach it once the shirt is back on the table with the cardboard.

FullSizeRender (2)                 IMG_5681

That’s all! I hope you enjoyed this simple tutorial and have a great Fourth of July. The theme next week is all about cameras. Make sure to check out Alexis’ post on Monday and mine on Thursday. Stay safe!

-Brooke

Leave a Reply

