DIY Temporary Tattoos

Hello everyone! For the past few months I’ve been noticing an interesting trend on Pinterest and Instagram; it seems like temporary tattoos are back in style! These tattoos aren’t the tattoos of our childhood though, they’ve gotten more grown-up and look more like actual tattoos. The only problem that I see with this trend is that most of the tattoos have the same feel and there isn’t a lot of choice when it comes to designs. This is why today I am going to share an inexpensive way to customize these tattoos to show your own individual style.

Materials:

  • silhouette printable tattoo paper
  • scissors
  • wet paper towel
  • hand towel

Step 1: The printable tattoo paper I chose has free software that makes it easier to create the layout when printing. To install, go to http://www.silhouetteamerica.com/software and follow the instructions for the Silhouette Studio.

Step 2: Once the software has been installed you can begin importing your designs! I found that it was easiest to import a JPEG or a PDF. You can either physically draw and design your tattoo or use a photo for your tattoo. Either way I would recommend bringing the image into Photoshop and editing before importing into Silhouette Studio. For my arm I used a few photos that I liked as well as designing one myself. After you import and scale the image it is very important to flip the image horizontally. If you accidentally skip this step the image will end up backwards which may not work for all tattoo designs.

Step 3: Make sure the paper is glossy side up and print your tattoo layout. It is best to adjust the setting for photo paper and to wait a few minutes for the ink to dry once it has printed. Once it’s dry the adhesive sheet can be applied (the green sheet). Bend the edge and pull the green side off while placing the adhesive onto the printed tattoo sheet. Make sure there are no air bubbles and cut carefully around each tattoo.

Step 4: Before applying the tattoo wash off any lotion and dry your skin. Peel the plastic off and place the tattoo onto the skin. Now you can wet it with a paper towel until you feel like it is fully secured to the skin (about 15-20 seconds. 2016-08-21 05.22.48

 

Step 5: Carefully peel the backing of the tattoo away from your skin and blot the tattoo gently with a dry paper towel. Now you’re done!!IMG_6153

Alexis and I each designed a tattoo for this week’s post. She designed this tattoo as a memorial for her mother. It’s based off of a letter she wrote to Alexis and includes some of the things that she had enjoyed drawing. Idealy, she would like this as either an underbust or a ribcage tattoo.

wp-1471738810455.jpg

For mine, I knew that I wanted some kind of cross but I didn’t really want a traditional cross. I wanted something that was more personalized for me so I designed this with the same style I tend to doodle in.cross

I hope you enjoyed this week’s DIY! Be sure to check out the awesome video Alexis made earlier in the week if you haven’t yet and stay tuned for our pet themed post that will come out later this week. For those of you who are back to school, good luck!

-Brooke

Leave a Reply

